FRANKLYWNOW - Southern Tier Residents Voice Their Opinions on Constitution Pip

Southern Tier Residents Voice Their Opinions on Constitution Pipeline Project

Posted:
Southern Tier residents got the opportunity to voice their opinions on the constitution pipeline project Monday night at a public hearing hosted by the DEC.

Tempers were flaring at Monday's public hearing.

This project would construct a 124 mile gas pipeline, which would begin in Susquehanna County, Pennsylvania and end in Schoharie County.

It would connect two existing interstate natural gas pipelines.
those opposed say they're concerned about the potential health hazards and environmental effects involved in the construction of the pipeline, while those in favor insist that it will address critical weaknesses in the region's pipeline infrastructure and bring much needed jobs to the area.

"The total project is estimated to create 1,300 jobs and that will also be residual 300 to 400 jobs. So, I'd say for the immediate effect it'll be a major impact. long term there will be increased tax base and some permanent jobs as well, so it's going to be a really good thing for the community," says David Marsh of Laborers Local.

Of 389 studies, 386 have grave concerns about what it does to people's health and how it effects the community. So, there's big concerns. We have a lot of questions out there and we are not getting those questions answered," says New York Landowner Scott Clarke

The DEC will be holding two other public hearings this week one in Oneonta and the other Cobleskill.

They will also be accepting written public comment until February 27th.

The DEC will make its final decision based on public comments.
  • Automation Test*Breaking NewsMore>>

  • nk test

    nk test

  • Section Title - Catbug's breaking news!

    Catbug's breaking news!

    Catbug's breaking news!

    Friday, February 17 2017 12:06 PM EST2017-02-17 17:06:28 GMT
    Thursday, June 21 2018 4:03 PM EDT2018-06-21 20:03:55 GMT
    You’re my friends now. We’re having soft tacos later. Yeah but I don’t know how to make myself go there. Maybe it might never happen again. AAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH! Put a little fence around it! Ralph Waldo Pickle Chips! I don’t know him.Pony Lords, jump for youYou’re my friends now. We’re having soft tacos later. Yeah but I don’t know how to make myself go there. Maybe it might never happen again. AAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH! Put a little fence around it! Ralph Waldo Pickle Chips! I don’t know him.Pony Lords, jump for you

    PersonalityCatbug may be about 10 years old, and has a very sweet and childlike personality. Catbug's personality also makes him seem simpler and more carefree, like in the episode "Gas-Powered Stick," where he was seen talking to a spider, and in the ep

    More>>

    PersonalityCatbug may be about 10 years old, and has a very sweet and childlike personality. Catbug's personality also makes him seem simpler and more carefree, like in the episode "Gas-Powered Stick," where he was seen talking to a spider, and in the ep

    More>>
  • Woman trapped in bedroom by collapsed ceiling

    Woman trapped in bedroom by collapsed ceiling

    Thursday, February 23 2017 9:17 PM EST2017-02-24 02:17:22 GMT
    Thursday, March 16 2017 1:27 PM EDT2017-03-16 17:27:38 GMT
    FORT WAYNE, Ind. (21Alive) - A woman was trapped early Friday morning in her home after her bedroom ceiling collapsed on her while she was in bed. Fort Wayne fire crews and paramedics rushed to the sceneMore>>
    FORT WAYNE, Ind. (21Alive) - A woman was trapped early Friday morning in her home after her bedroom ceiling collapsed on her while she was in bed. Fort Wayne fire crews and paramedics rushed to the sceneMore>>
Powered by Frankly
All content &copy; Copyright 2000 - 2019. All Rights Reserved. <BR>For more information on this site, please read our <a href="//wnow.worldnow.com/story/18990/this-web-sites-privacy-policy" >Privacy Policies </a>, and <A HREF="//wnow.worldnow.com/story/18991/this-sites-terms-of-service">Terms of Service</A>.